Peter Saul

«I always do things the wrong way, which is completely empty Territory».
Peter Saul

Питера Соула называют отцом поп-арта и наследником сюрреализма, одним из важнейших практикующих живописцев современности и последовательным «нарушителем хорошего вкуса» в искусстве.

Основатель уникального стиля «Bad Painting» – живописи, характерными чертами которой являются яркая палитра красок и гипертрофированная деформация образов, ликующая картина беспредела и насилия в обществе, которое художник своими «обвинительными актами», подвергает саркастической критике.

В 1950-е годы Соул вводит в свои экспрессионистские картины культовых персонажей комиксов и мультфильмов – Супермена и Дональда Дака, в середине 1960-х посвящает серию антимилитаристских произведений войне во Вьетнаме, а в 1970-х создает собственные вариации «Ночного дозора» Рембрандта и «Герники» Пикассо, неизменно возвращаясь к сюжетам, почерпнутым из масс-медиа и истории искусства.

Раздражающие, полные диких образов и ядовитой морали, работы Соула – как отражения новой реальности, срывающие маски лицемерия, обличающие человеческие пороки, способные изменить наш взгляд на историю и общепринятое видение социальных устоев. Находясь у истоков течения поп-арта, Соул воплотил свои идеи в беспрецедентном стиле живописи, вдохновившим поколение американских художников на новое мышление и новое творчество, ставшее основой современной американской культуры.

Важность работы заключается в том, чтобы сделать ее свежей и как можно более оригинальной, несущей идею и свою психологию. Я стараюсь сделать ее достойной внимания зрителя – превратить ее в сенсацию.
Правда или ложь – не имеет значения. Главное, чтобы она вызывала беспокойство или смех – я люблю любые эмоции. Плохие вещи заставляют меня смеяться так же часто, как и хорошие – это и есть мой стиль искусства уже более 55 лет.
Я открыт любому юмору, кроме утонченного – к нему стремились слишком много хороших художников. Секрет успеха “плохого” художника – в отказе от самой потребности в одобрении. Так что если вы хотите “возвышенного” искусства, лучше не зовите Соула. Питер Соул

Работы Питера Соула находятся в коллекциях ведущих музеев мира, в том числе: Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York), Centre Pompidou (Paris), Whitney Museum of American Art (New York), The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum of Contemporary Art (Los Angeles), Museum Ludwig (Köln), Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam), MoMA (New York).

Peter Saul

  • Didn’t Hurt

    Didn’t Hurt
    1998
    Acrylic oil on canvas
    118 x 89 cm

    Exhibitions:
    Mystifiers, NCCA, Moscow: Feb - Mar '16

  • Woman Drinking Martini

    Woman Drinking Martini
    2009
    Acrylic oil on canvas
    118 x 89 cm

    Exhibitions:
    Mystifiers, NCCA, Moscow: Feb - Mar '16

  • Peter Saul - Here Comes the Garbage

    Here Comes the Garbage
    2012
    Acrylic on canvas
    183 x 213 cm
    Exhibitions:
    “Peter Saul”. MARY BOONE GALLERY, New York, 24 March - 28 April 2012
    “Peter Saul: Neptune and the Octopus Painter”.VENEKLASEN WERNER GALLERY, Berlin, 27 April - 29 June 2013

Peter Saul

“I always do things the wrong way, which is completely empty Territory.”
Peter Saul
 
 
Peter Saul has been deemed the father of Pop Art and a successor to Surrealism. He is one of the most important artists of our time and a consistent “violator of good taste” in art.

He is the founder of the unique style of Bad Painting, which is characterized by a bright palette of colors and exaggerated distortion of images – a jubilant depiction of lawlessness and violence in society, which the artist sarcastically criticizes through his “indictments”. 
 
In the 1950s, Saul introduced the iconic comic and cartoon characters, Superman and Donald Duck, to his expressionist paintings; in the mid-1960s, he devoted a series of anti-military works to the Vietnam War; and, in the 1970s, he created his own variations of Rembrant's “The Night Watch” and Picasso's “Guernica”, always returning to subjects drawn from mass media and art history.
 
Saul's works, rambunctious and full of lush images and poisonous morality, portray a new reality by removing the mask of hypocrisy and exposing human vices, in such a way that can change our perception of history and the generally accepted understanding of social norms. As the originator of Pop Art, Saul embodied his ideas in an unprecedented style of painting that inspired a generation of American artists to new thinking and new creativity, which became the foundation of modern American culture.
 
The important thing is that a work has to look fresh, to be as original as possible. That means it has to have its own idea and psychology. I try to make it worth looking at, to turn it into a sensation.
True or false doesn’t matter at all as long as it’s disturbing or funny, because I love all psychology. Bad things make me laugh just as often as good things. This has been my art style for over 55 years.
I am open to any humor, except sophisticated humor. Too many good artists have sought after it. The secret of the success of a “bad” artist is in overcoming the need for approval. So, if you want “sublime” art, you better not call Saul.

Peter Saul
 
 
 
Works by Peter Saul are found in the collections of leading museums around the world including: Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York), Centre Pompidou (Paris), Whitney Museum of American Art (New York), The Art Institute of Chicago, Museum of Contemporary Art (Los Angeles), Museum Ludwig (Köln), Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam), and MoMA (New York).

Peter Saul

  • Didn’t Hurt

    Didn’t Hurt
    1998
    Acrylic oil on canvas
    118 x 89 cm

    Exhibitions:
    Mystifiers, NCCA, Moscow: Feb - Mar '16

  • Woman Drinking Martini

    Woman Drinking Martini
    2009
    Acrylic oil on canvas
    118 x 89 cm

    Exhibitions:
    Mystifiers, NCCA, Moscow: Feb - Mar '16

  • Peter Saul - Here Comes the Garbage

    Here Comes the Garbage
    2012
    Acrylic on canvas
    183 x 213 cm
    Exhibitions:
    “Peter Saul”. MARY BOONE GALLERY, New York, 24 March - 28 April 2012
    “Peter Saul: Neptune and the Octopus Painter”.VENEKLASEN WERNER GALLERY, Berlin, 27 April - 29 June 2013