15.05 — 14.08.2008 Artificial Realism персональная выставка George Condo

Портретист несуществующих людей, автор оригинального творческого метода “искусственный реализм”, создатель неповторимого стиля, в котором гротеск и ирония органично сочетаются с мастерством рисовальщика и одарённостью колориста, один из важнейших фигуративных художников современности. Всё это о герое нашего нового проекта – американском художнике Джордже Кондо.
Буквально на наших глазах Джордж Кондо был возведён в генеральский чин в иерархии современного искусства. Его работы – гордость самых авторитетных музейных и частных коллекций (включая MoMA,NY, The Solomon R.Guggenheim Museum,NY, Whitney Museum of American Art, NY).

Среди поклонников творчества Кондо – Ringo Starr, Leonardo diCaprio, Princess Caroline of Monaco, ювелирный магнат Laurence Graff, Dakis Joannou, Eli Broad и многие известные деятели культуры и бизнеса.

Джордж Кондо родился в 1957 году. Ещё в Массачуссетском университете, где он изучал историю искусств, стало очевидным, что призванием Кондо является живопись. В 1983 году он отправляется в Германию изучать европейскую живописную традицию и знакомится там с европейскими художниками – своими современниками.

В 1999 году Кондо становится Лауреатом премии американской Академии искусств.
В 2000 году выходит документальный фильм “Живопись Кондо” (реж. John McNaughton). Художник является приглашённым профессором ряда Университетов.

Одной из характерных особенностей Кондо является его разноплановость и многоликость. В живописном театре Кондо часто скрываются ссылки к последним политическим и корпоративным скандалам. Среди его персонажей – вымышленные герои, их слуги, горничные, изображённые в кубистической стилистике, демонические подружки и ведьмы, сумасшедшие святые и спившиеся супермены. Время в его живописи носит нелинейный характер: в одной работе пещерные люди вполне органично становятся героями современной жизни и, наоборот, наши современники уживаются на одном холсте с римскими солдатами и доисторическими персонажами.

Не допуская прямого цитирования, в работах Кондо отчётливо прослеживается увлечение и глубокое знание живописи старых мастеров, художников Парижской школы, итальянской живописи 1920-30-х годов. Совершенно особое место в его системе координат занимает Пабло Пикассо. История, безусловно, расставит всё по своим местам. Но Джордж Кондо – это тот редкий случай, когда все ясно уже сейчас. Не вызывает сомнений, что для нашего поколения его творчество не менее актуально, интересно, полно новаций и открытий, чем творчество Пикассо для его современников и последователей.

15.05 — 14.08.2008 Artificial Realism персональная выставка George Condo

  • George Condo - Woman and Man

    Woman and Man
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Two female figures

    Two female figures
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - Smiling Face

    Smiling Face
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Seated girl

    Seated girl
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - Reclining woman in field

    Reclining woman in field
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - Outdoor family

    Outdoor family
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Orgy composition

    Orgy composition
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - Cubist priest

    Cubist priest
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Crime and punishment

    Crime and punishment
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Seated female figure

    Seated female figure
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Impressions of Rodrigo

    Impressions of Rodrigo
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - The Informer

    The Informer
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - The barmaid

    The barmaid
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - Cave Painting

    Cave Painting
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - The other side of reality

    The other side of reality
    2008
    Oil on canvas, 215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - The bird brain of Alcatraz

    The bird brain of Alcatraz
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

15.05 — 14.08.2008 Artificial Realism One Man Show George Condo

A portraitist of imaginary people; the author of the original artistic method of “Artificial Realism,” and the creator of an inimitable style, in which irony and the grotesque are seamlessly fused together with the mastery of a draftsman and the genius of a colorist. These can all be aptly used to describe the hero of our project: American artist George Condo, who is one of the most significant figurative artists of the present.

Practically before our eyes, George Condo was elevated to the rank of General in the hierarchy of contemporary art. His works are the pride of the most prestigious museums and private collections in the world, including the MoMA, NY, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, NY, and the Whitney Museum of American Art, NY.

Among his admirers are Princess Caroline of Monaco, jewelry magnate Laurence Graff, Ringo Starr, Leonardo DiCaprio, Eli Broad, Dakis Joannou, and many other renowned cultural and business figures.

George Condo was born in 1957. It must be noted that even while studying art history at a university in Massachusetts, it was obvious that painting was his calling. In 1983, Condo moved to Germany in order to study traditional European painting and become acquainted with the contemporary European art scene.

In 1999, Condo received the Academy Award in Art from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In 2000, a documentary directed by John McNaughton entitled “Condo Painting” was released. Condo was also invited to be a professor at several Universities.

One of the distinct characteristics of Condo’s art is its diversity and versatility. Within the painterly theater that he creates, one can often discover hidden references to the most recent political and corporate scandals. His personages consist of mythical heroes, who are accompanied by their servants and housemaids that are portrayed in a cubist style, along with demonic girlfriends and witches, insane saints and heavily boozed supermen. Time is determinedly non-linear in his paintings. For example, cavemen effortlessly transform into heroes of modern times and, conversely, Roman legionnaires and prehistoric personages coexist with our contemporaries on one canvas.

Though Condo forbids direct quotation, it is still possible to trace a distinct line through his work that indicates his devotion and intimate knowledge of the paintings of the old masters, artists from L’Ecole de Paris, as well as Italian painting from the 1920-1930’s. History will surely place everything in order. George Condo, however, is that rare occurrence, in which everything is already clear. Our generation will not question the fact that George Condo’s creative work is no less innovative and interesting than was the work of Pablo Picasso for his contemporaries and followers.

15.05 — 14.08.2008 Artificial Realism One Man Show George Condo

  • George Condo - Woman and Man

    Woman and Man
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Two female figures

    Two female figures
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - Smiling Face

    Smiling Face
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Seated girl

    Seated girl
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - Reclining woman in field

    Reclining woman in field
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - Outdoor family

    Outdoor family
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Orgy composition

    Orgy composition
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - Cubist priest

    Cubist priest
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Crime and punishment

    Crime and punishment
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Seated female figure

    Seated female figure
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - Impressions of Rodrigo

    Impressions of Rodrigo
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - The Informer

    The Informer
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - The barmaid

    The barmaid
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - Cave Painting

    Cave Painting
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm

  • George Condo - The other side of reality

    The other side of reality
    2008
    Oil on canvas, 215,9 x 190,5 cm

  • George Condo - The bird brain of Alcatraz

    The bird brain of Alcatraz
    2008
    Oil on canvas
    190,5 x 215,9 cm